My Amigurumi & Crocheting Journey thus far…

My interest in crocheting sparked in July 2010 during one of my mother’s yarn phases. While she crocheted a very practical toque, I decided to learn how to crochet as well, but was more interested in impractical things. More specifically, I was fascinated by amigurumi, and yearned to be able to conjure creatures with my own two hands. Therefore, I began searching for feasible patterns online to start my journey. Since then, I have learned how to read patterns, learned which is the right side facing out, and began crocheting various things to share with and gift those close to me. It’s funny, looking back now, I realize that I never kept any of these for myself. I suppose it’s because I always start a project because it is planned as a gift, and I love being able to share what I made with other people, hopefully to brighten their day.

Most of the items that I have made, shown above, followed patterns that were lovingly created and shared by wonderful individuals of the crocheting community. I am so grateful to these people for their youtube tutorials and awesome patterns as they have been integral to my learning process in crocheting. Thank you! Some of the items above were created by me without the use of a pattern. I hope that as I become more experienced, I will be able to give back to the crocheting community with a few patterns of my own. 🙂

Here I would like to credit the original creators of the items above, from left to right, top to bottom:

  1. Bobbly Wobbly bear pattern: Cynthia Sickler
  2. Luma from Super Mario Galaxy pattern: Linda Potts @ WolfDreamer
  3. Georgina the Giraffe pattern: Lion Brand Yarn website
  4. Pill: Me!
  5. Red Heart pattern: Tami @ Roxicraft
  6. Domocube pattern: Kayla Kulture
  7. Kirby + mario/luigi caps + crown: Nerdigurumi. Chef hat: Me!
  8. Graduation mortarboard: Me!
  9. Kiwi Earrings pattern: minchanka.by
  10. Paper-clip Ice Skates pattern: Myra Shaw @ inkyrats.typepad.com
  11. Mahjong tile keychain: Me!
  12. Tiny Striped Turtle pattern: Kristiekids
Leave a Reply

